Posted by: midwestgirl2eastcoastaddress | December 5, 2009

Thai It and You’ll Like It

While the theme of this blog has been primarily about my experiences in social media, I’ve also tried to kick in a few posts about my life experiences on the east coast.  Here’s one.

Anyone that knows me well knows that I am very particular when it comes to the food that I eat.  I was raised on American cuisine and refused fruit and vegetables – really refused it and would take any punishment I got.  (I remember giving up going to the St. Louis Cardinal game for not eating my stir fry for dinner.)

Since living on the east coast I have fell in love with Thai food — not all but some dishes.  I finally had to give in because I find it hard to avoid in D.C.; friends and coworkers always saying “Let’s do Thai.”  After pleading with me to try a new ethnic cuisine, my husband finally said “Just try it.  You’ll like it.”  I couldn’t refuse him or my friends any longer.

I took my first real try at a Thaipoon, a nearby restaurant. What I ordered wasn’t that great.  The next time around I tried the Ka Pow, #22 on the take-out menu, and it was love at first taste.  Ka Pow consists of chicken, rice, sliced bell peppers, and a little basil mixed in a spicy sauce.  If I’m missing any ingredients, don’t tell me, I probably don’t want to know.

The east coast has changed this Midwest Girl in the food arena…for the better.

Now, what’s for dinner?

Leave a Reply

Categories

