Posted by: midwestgirl2eastcoastaddress | September 23, 2009

Response Blog #1 – My First Blog and the Cluetrain Manifesto

Hello World!

For those of you that have found my blog, I congratulate you on finding the internet and social media!  Social media is rather new to me, so with that, I elected to take a class that is dedicated to learning about social media and using it effectively.  One of the assignments is to blog about certain topics, so if you want to learn more, follow my blog and I will clue you into the things that my genius professors at Georgetown are teaching me! (Or post a comment and feel free to clue me on things I should know.)

For class, I recently read the 95 Theses within the book titled Cluetrain Manifesto. It discusses the evolution of global conversation over the internet, social media, and other means of online communication.  If you have not read the 95 Theses, I do encourage it with one recommendation – skip directly to #95!  All are worth reading, but it really is the last one that sums it all up for me.

It [#95] reads, “We are waking up and linking to each other.  We are watching.  But we are not waiting.”

Allow me to interpret what I think the author was getting at…

We are waking up and linking to each other. When the author wrote this, Facebook did not have 300 million users as it does today.  However, I think he saw something coming.  Today, the social media boom has hit most of everyone – even baby boomers!  Individuals all over the world are discovering the benefits of social media sites and how they can keep family, friends, acquaintances, etc. linked together.  You just need to be smart about it!

We are watching. Internet and social media users are utilizing the world wide web to get up to the minute news and information.  We watch for the information to come to us!  Technology such as RSS feeds and text messages/email updates can help us do that.

But we are not waiting. Individuals that rely on the internet for their news and information do not wait for it.  In fact, we grow very impatient and look for the first site that can tell us what we want to know.  CNN.com, MSNBC.com, FoxNews.com… Some don’t even wait for news sources to tell them, but rather rely on news through a Twitter feed or a Facebook posting from a friend.  I first heard of MJ’s death from Facebook, and then I turned to a news source for information.

Leave a Reply

Categories

